Trauma of a Stroke or a Bleed on the Brain

After a bleed on the Brain or other Stroke/Trauma your personality can change.

It might be scary but there is a lot of support out there for you if you know where to look.

Reading about what happened to you is ok, but, talking to those that have already been there will help you understand and help you travel along your recovery journey.

There are online support groups, blogs like this and so on. Your first port of call is asking for help before you are discharged from your Hospital.

Secondly you really must contact your GP as soon as you are well enough to go out. Firstly to get any repeat medication you might need, always go with someone just in case it gets too much for you.. I’ll update this thread as I get my information in the right order.

Published by Mike

Hi there. Welcome to my blog. I am a stroke survivor and hope to make new friends like me that have survived a Subarachnoid Haemorrhage. Here we can talk much more freely and mostly without any moderation. Please be aware you are personally responsible for your posts. There will be a just a few rules which I will sort out later as I get the layout of this blog sorted. In the meantime please introduce yourself and post away and welcome to my blog. Michael

One thought on “Trauma of a Stroke or a Bleed on the Brain

  1. Friday is results day for me. This is in regards to a big seizure I had in Asda earlier this year.

    Earlier this summer I was properly diagnosed with Focal impaired awareness seizures (FIAS) symptoms aren’t nice either. Last year my seizure meds were only 100mg, this year they’re now 600mg.

    I’m also expecting it to be raised to 900 possibly! Secondly my ECG was abnormal also.I’ll know more about this in 5 days. I’ll post up the results as soon as I know…

    Symptoms…

    The person’s consciousness is affected and they may be confused. They might be able to hear you, but not fully understand what you say or be able to respond to you.

    They may not react as they would normally. If you speak loudly to them, they may think you are being aggressive and so they may react aggressively towards you.

    After a focal impaired awareness seizure, the person may be confused for a while, sometimes called ‘post-ictal’ (after seizure) confusion.

    It may be hard to tell when the seizure has ended. The person might be tired and want to rest. They may not remember the seizure afterwards.

    Given the above, it explains a lot to me. Most of you are aware that I have good days and bad ones too. I do strange things and am confused a lot more than I used to be.

    I’ve had a tougher summer than I’d hope for, but I’ve gotten through it. I’m still messing up more than I would like, but given everything I’ve got, it’s no surprise is it?

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started